Duplicate Accounts

What do I do if I have a duplicate account?

Last Reviewed: 04/08/2014
Report Answer Inaccuracies
Expand All
Collapse All

You may discover you have more than one LinkedIn account. If you get a message that says the email address you're attempting to use is associated with another account, this means that you probably have another LinkedIn account using that email address. This can happen if you use a number of different email addresses.

To find your other account(s), search for your name on LinkedIn. From your search results:

  • The profile with the You icon is the account where you're currently signed in.
  • A profile containing your information that doesn't have a You icon is a duplicate account.

Click the item below that best describes your situation and follow the instructions:

I can sign in to both accounts - 1 account has 0 connections:

You can find the number of connections assigned to an account on the right side of your homepage in the Your LinkedIn Network feature.

  1. Sign in to the account you want to close.
  2. Move your cursor over your photo in the top right of your homepage and select Privacy & Settings.
    • You may be prompted to sign in to your account again.
  3. Click the Account side tab next to the shield icon near the bottom left of the page.
  4. Under the Helpful Links section, click Close your account.
  5. Wait 48 hours after your account is closed, then add the email address from the closed account to your remaining account. This can prevent other duplicate accounts from being created in the future.
I can sign in to both accounts - 1 account has 1-10 connections:

You can find the number of connections assigned to an account on the right side of your homepage in the Your LinkedIn Network feature.

  1. Sign in to the account you want to close.
  2. Export your connections. Save your export as a CSV file and remember where you save it.
  3. Move your cursor over your photo in the top right of your homepage and select Privacy & Settings.
  4. You may be prompted to sign in to your account again to get to your settings.

  5. Click the Account side tab next to the shield icon near the bottom left of the page.
  6. Under the Helpful Links section, click Close your account. IMPORTANT: Make sure you're signed in to the account you want to close.
  7. Sign in to the account you’re keeping.
  8. Reinvite connections from your closed duplicate account by referencing the CSV file you saved in Step 2.
  9. Check th box next to the contacts you want to reinvite and click Send Invitations.
  10. Wait 48 hours after your account is closed, and then add the email address from the closed account to the one you kept open.
I can sign in to both accounts - both accounts have 10 or more connections:

You can find the number of connections assigned to an account on the right side of your homepage in the Your LinkedIn Network feature.

  • Please contact us to help you transfer all your connections to one account and close the other. Note: At this time, we can't transfer profile data like recommendations, work experience, pending invitations, or group memberships.
I can't sign in - I know the email address registered to the duplicate account I want to close:
  1. Go to the Sign in page and click the Forgot Password? link.
  2. Enter the email address registered to the account you want to close and click Continue. This will send the password reset link to that email address.
  3. Once you’ve recovered access to this account, follow the instructions in the scenario that best fits your situation.
I can't sign in - I don't know the email address registered to the duplicate account I want to close:

Please contact us with your duplicate account’s web address (URL). There are 2 ways to find your profile URL:

  1. Search for your name at http://www.linkedin.com/search.
  2. Go to a public search engine like www.google.com and type "LinkedIn" plus your first and last name. For example, if your name is Fred Jones, you'd search for "LinkedIn Fred Jones".

Was this answer helpful?