What do you think of our Help Center? Would you like to take a quick survey? Yes or No dismiss this message

Removing, Blocking, or Blocking & Deleting a Group Member

How do I remove a group member?

Last Reviewed: 12/18/2013
Expand All
Collapse All

If you're an owner or manager, you can remove, block, or block and delete any member in your group.

  1. Move your cursor over Interests at the top of your homepage and select Groups.
  2. Click the group’s name.
  3. Click the Manage tab in the row under the group’s name.
  4. Click Participants in the left pane and then click the Members tab.
  5. Find the member you want to remove, and check the box next to their name.
  6. Click one of the options below:
    • Remove takes the member out of the group, but doesn't delete the member's past contributions. They can request to join the group again.
    • Block takes the member out of the group and places them on the Blocked tab, which prevents them from requesting to join again. It doesn't delete the member's past contributions.
    • Block & Delete takes the member out of the group and places them on the Blocked tab, which prevents them from requesting to join again. It also deletes all past contributions. Please be aware that when you select Block & Delete for a group member, this will result in automatic moderation of all their future posts in any group sitewide. Read more about removing spam from your group.
    • If you click Unblock & Remove from the Blocked tab, it takes the member out of the group without deleting their past contributions, and they can request to join the group again.

Learn how to add back a group member who's been blocked.

Was this answer helpful?