What do you think of our Help Center? Would you like to take a quick survey? Yes or No dismiss this message

Closing Your Account

How do I close my account?

Last Reviewed: 05/16/2014
Report Answer Inaccuracies
Expand All
Collapse All

Closing your account means shutting off your profile and removing access to all your LinkedIn information from our site. If you have a Premium account, you can cancel the Premium access, but still keep your free Basic account to retain your profile, connections, and other information.

Before you close your only LinkedIn account, please note:

  • You won't have access to your connections or any information you've added to your account.
  • Your profile will no longer be visible on LinkedIn.
  • Search engines like Yahoo!, Bing, and Google may still display your information temporarily due to the way they collect and update their search data. Learn more.
  • You'll lose all recommendations and endorsements.

You can close your only LinkedIn account on the Privacy & Settings page:

  1. Move your cursor over your photo in the top right of your homepage and select Privacy & Settings.
    • You may be prompted to sign in to your account again.
  2. Click the Account side tab next to the shield icon near the bottom left of the page.
  3. Under the Helpful Links section, select Close your account.

If you've created more than 1 account, learn how to delete or merge a duplicate account.

Do you want to keep your account but receive less email?

  • You can set the frequency of email communications from the Communications section of the Privacy & Settings page to reduce email notifications, group digest emails, and LinkedIn announcements.

Was this answer helpful?