Showing or Hiding Activity Updates About You

How do I control the updates I broadcast about myself?

Last Reviewed: 12/14/2014
Expand All
Collapse All

Updates will immediately be visible on your Recent Activity page and broadcast to your network when you make changes to your profile. Learn how to view your Recent Activity page.

  • Note: Your Recent Activity page is not the same as your homepage. You must go to your Recent Activity page after making any change to confirm that they were broadcast.
  • While the majority of your updates appear on your Recent Activity page for 14 days, this duration varies depending on the type of activity. Learn more about how long updates show in your recent activity.

You can disable these updates by unchecking the box in your activity broadcast setting, accessible from the Privacy & Settings page.

You can also adjust the activity broadcast setting while editing your profile:

  1. Move your cursor over Profile at the top of your homepage and select Edit Profile.
  2. Toggle the button in the Notify Your Network? box on the right to either Yes or No.

Some of the changes that trigger updates are:

  • Adding a new current job position (this will generate a "say congrats" update to your network
  • Adding a new link to a website
  • Recommending someone
  • Following a company
  • Adding a connection - we'll send an update if you've chosen "Your connections" when you control who can see your connections.
  • Adding additional skills to your profile.
  • Sharing content with your network.
  • Editing the title of your current position (this will generate an update stating that "You've updated your experience section)
  • Current work experience anniversaries

While you can limit most of your updates, the following will be posted regardless of your activity settings:

Learn more:

Was this answer helpful?