What do you think of our Help Center? Would you like to take a quick survey? Yes or No dismiss this message

Protecting Your Privacy

We take your safety and privacy very seriously. That's why we take proactive steps to make sure that only you have access to your personal information, and give you different ways to control how much you're sharing and who you're sharing with.

How does LinkedIn use email verification?

We want to make sure you're the only person who's signing in to your account. One of the ways we try to prevent unauthorized access is by proactively detecting any unusual activity related to your account. For instance, if we see that you're signing in from a country that's not associated with your profile, we may ask you to verify this sign-in attempt through your email account.

If you run into any problems after you've been prompted to confirm a sign-in attempt through your email account, please check out the Security Verification When Signing In answer in our Help Center.

What is CAPTCHA and why does LinkedIn use it?

We use CAPTCHA to protect your account from unauthorized access. CAPTCHA stands for "Completely Automated Public Turing test to tell Computers and Humans Apart" and is a common security test that websites use to ensure that an actual person - and not another computer - is accessing an account. CAPTCHA works by generating a random series of letters and numbers that appear slightly distorted. A computer can't read these characters, so it can't solve CAPTCHA. Humans, on the other hand, are easily able enter the phrase and pass the security test. From time to time, you may be presented with an image to solve so we can verify you're a real person signing into your account.

If you have any difficulty solving the CAPTCHA challenge, please check out the Security Verification When Signing In answer in our Help Center for troubleshooting tips.

Member blocking

This feature adds an additional layer to your privacy controls by allowing you to block your profile, direct interactions, and network activity from logged in members who you don't wish to interact or share personal information with.

You can block another member by choosing the Block or Report option on their profile page.

You can view and manage your list of blocked members on your block list located in your Privacy & Settings.

What other privacy settings can I use?

In addition to the security features that we've built into the site to protect your information, there are some additional privacy settings you can turn on or off, depending on what you want to share, display, and receive.

Here are some options you'll find in your settings:

  • Turn on/off your activity broadcasts: If you don't want your connections to see when you make changes to your profile, follow companies, or recommend connections, uncheck this option.
  • Select who can see your activity feed: Here's where you choose who can see the activity section on your profile, which shows the latest things you've done on LinkedIn.
  • Select what others can see when you've viewed their profile: When you view other profiles on LinkedIn, those people can see your name, photo, and headline. If you want a higher level of privacy, you can choose to display anonymous profile information, or show up as an anonymous LinkedIn member.
  • Select who can see your connections: You can share your connections' names with your other first-degree connections, or you can make your connections list visible only to you.
  • Change your profile photo and visibility: You can choose to have your photo displayed to only your first-degree connections, your network, or everyone who views your profile.
  • Types of messages you're willing to receive: LinkedIn offers several ways for members to communicate with each other. Within your privacy settings, you can select which types of messages you'd like to get from other members.
  • Who can send you invitations: You have the option of allowing only certain people to send you invitations to connect. Your "Imported Contacts" list is your address book of email addresses you've shared with LinkedIn.
  • Turn on/off group invitations: If you'd rather not get invitations to join groups on LinkedIn, uncheck this option.

Looking for a very high level of security for your account? You may want to think about turning on two-step verification, which adds another layer of protection to your account and ensures you're safe even if your password has been compromised. This works by requiring you to type in a code (sent to your mobile device) when signing in from a browser or device you haven't used before. Learn more about Protecting Your Account and how to turn two-step verification on.