We strongly recommend that you only accept invitations to connect from people you know. You can select who can send you invitations from the Communications section on your Privacy & Settings page.
You can Accept or Ignore invitations to connect from the People You May Know page:
- Hover your cursor over the Add Connections icon at the top of your homepage.
- Click See all under Invitations in the top right of the drop down menu.
Any Pending Invitations will appear at the top of the page. When you hover your cursor over the photo of who sent you the invitation, you'll see the following options:
Click the Accept icon to add the person as one of your 1st-degree connections. If you don't see this option, you may already be connected.
Once an invitation to connect is accepted, you can remove that connection at any time.
To view the sender's message on a Pending Invitation, hover your cursor over the Quote icon. A box will appear with the invitation message along with when it was sent. You can reply to the message by clicking on the Reply icon.
Important: Replying to an invitation message will not automatically accept the invitation to connect.
Click the Ignore icon to remove the invitation without accepting it. The other person won't be notified that you've ignored their invitation, so they may try to connect with you again.
After you click the Ignore icon, the option to Report as Spam will appear at the top of the page. Selecting this option will report the member's invitation as spam.
If you don't know the person who sent you the invitation, you can also select the I Don't Know [Name] option that appears at the top of the page after you click the Ignore icon. This will prevent that member from sending you further invitations to connect. It also gives us feedback on whether we may need to restrict the sender's account.
Learn more about managing Sent, Pending, and Blocked invitations.