Communicating with a Fellow Group Member

How do I send a message to a group member and allow them to contact me?

Last Reviewed: 05/27/2015
Expand All
Collapse All

You can send a message to a group member without being connected and adjust your Member Message settings from within the group. However, there’s a limit on the number of free 1:1 group messages you can send within a time period. The limit is set for all the groups you belong to and not for each group individually. If you go over the limit, you will see an error message until your time period expires.

If you need to send more messages, we offer many alternatives if you’re using messaging to recruit, promote or connect with other members. Please check out our Premium accounts, which include InMail messages and recruiting tools to make the most of LinkedIn.

To send a free message directly to a group member:

From the member list:

  1. Move your cursor over Interests at the top of your homepage and select Groups.
  2. Click the group's name.
  3. Click the number of members in the group near the top right.
  4. Click the Send message link under the member's name.
    • This link will appear only if the member's settings allow them to be contacted by other group members.
  5. Your inbox will appear.
  6. Create your message and click Send Message.

From replying privately to a discussion someone posted:

  1. Click the Dropdown icon next to the discussion.
  2. Click Reply privately.
  3. Your inbox will appear.
  4. Create your message and click Send Message.

To view or adjust your Member Messages settings:

  1. Move your cursor over Interests at the top of your homepage and select Groups.
  2. Click the group's name.
  3. Click the Information and settings icon near the top right.
  4. Next to Member Messages, check or uncheck the box next to 'Allow member of this group to send me messages via LinkedIn.'
  5. Click Save Changes.

Note: Contact information isn't shared when you use the Send message link through groups. Messages we send on your behalf only show the name on your account.

Was this answer helpful?