Removing, Blocking, or Blocking & Deleting a Group Member

How do I remove a group member?

Last Reviewed: 01/28/2016
Expand All
Collapse All

If you're an owner or manager, you can remove, block, or block and delete any member in your group.

  1. Move your cursor over Interests at the top of your homepage and select Groups.
  2. Click My Groups.
  3. From a list of groups, click the name of the group you want.
  4. Click Manage.
  5. Click Members in the left pane and then click the Members tab.
  6. Find the member you want to remove, and check the box next to their name.
  7. Click one of the options below:
    • Remove takes the member out of the group, but doesn't delete the member's past contributions. They can request to join the group again.
    • Block takes the member out of the group and places them on the Blocked tab, which prevents them from requesting to join again. It doesn't delete the member's past contributions.
    • Block & Delete takes the member out of the group and places them on the Blocked tab, which prevents them from requesting to join again. It also deletes all past contributions.
    • If you click Unblock & Remove from the Blocked tab, it takes the member out of the group without deleting their past contributions, and they can request to join the group again.

You can also easily remove members from the feed of a group you manage.

  1. Click the More icon in the top right corner of a post or comment.
  2. Click Remove member or Block member.

Notes:

  • The functionality to remove members is available on both desktop and iOS devices.
  • As of now, the functionality to block members is only available on desktop.

Learn how to add back a group member who's been blocked.

Was this answer helpful?