Canceling an Invitation

How do I cancel an invitation to connect?

Last Reviewed: 08/31/2015
Expand All
Collapse All

In many cases, you can cancel an invitation if the recipient hasn't taken any action. The below steps only apply to invitations sent via email:

  1. Hover your cursor over the Add Connections icon at the top right of your homepage.
  2. Click Invitations or See all in the top right of the Add Connections dropdown menu.
  3. You'll be taken to the People You May Know page. Click on the People icon in the upper right and select Sent invitations from the dropdown. Only sent invitations that are waiting for a response will be displayed.
  4. Select the invitations you want to cancel.
  5. Click Cancel requests.

The recipient won't be notified about a canceled invitation. Later, if you change your mind, you'll need the recipient's email address to send them another invitation.

Notes:

  • The ability to cancel multiple sent invitation requests at once is currently not available to all members.
  • If you don't have the above feature, you can contact us and ask that we cancel all pending invitations sent from your account on your behalf.

You can also cancel an individual invitation from your inbox. This feature may not be available to all members.

  1. Click the Inbox icon in the top right of your homepage.
  2. Click Sent on the left.
  3. Find an invitation without "Accepted" next to the name.
  4. Click the subject line of the invitation.
  5. Click Withdraw.
    • If the Withdraw button isn't there, the invitation can't be withdrawn. It may have already expired.

Notes:

  • Canceling an invitation will remove it from the recipient's LinkedIn inbox or list of pending invitations. It'll also ensure reminder emails won't be sent to them. However, it won't remove the invitation from their email provider's inbox.
  • Canceling invitations doesn't return them to your balance of available invitations.

Learn more about canceling SMS (text) invitations.

Important: We recently improved the messaging experience to make it easier for you to have professional conversations on LinkedIn. Please note that the new experience will be gradually rolled out to all members, and we are not granting early access requests.

Learn more about the features and functionalities of the new LinkedIn messaging experience.

Was this answer helpful?