People You May Know shows you connection suggestions based on:
- Commonalities between you and other members. For example, you may have common connections, similar profile information and experiences, work at the same company or in the same industry, or attended the same school.
- Contacts you've imported from your email and mobile address books.
Note: We don't scan the content of your messages to suggest results.
You can access People You May Know from your homepage as well as the People You May Know page.
An abbreviated list of People You May Know appears in your feed, listed under the section See anyone you know? Connect with them. You can click Connect under a member's name to send an invitation to connect. Click Find more people you may know in the bottom right to see a full list of suggestions.
The feature may not show on your homepage if:
- You have no pending invitations.
- You've invited all available suggested members.
- You've removed all available suggested members.
- There are no suggested members at this time.
- Your profile is missing key information like current or past companies, positions, schools, or industries.
- You have numbers, symbols, or special characters in your name fields.
At the top of the People You May Know page, you could see pending invitations. Move your cursor over the pending invitation to see 2 options:
- Accept - Click the Accept icon to add the person as one of your 1st-degree connections.
- Ignore - Click the Ignore icon to move the invitation to your archive folder without accepting it. The other person won't be notified that you've ignored their invitation, so they may try to connect with you again.
If you remove several hundred suggestions within a few days by clicking the X that appears in the top right corner of a suggestion when you move your cursor over it, some results may re-appear the same day you dismiss them.
Note: You may see several names with corresponding email addresses in People You May Know. These are contacts you previously uploaded who haven't joined LinkedIn. You can click Add to network to invite them one at a time. However, these invitations can't be personalized.