Removing a Connection

How do I remove the connection between myself and another LinkedIn member?

Last Reviewed: 05/20/2015
Expand All
Collapse All

You can remove a connection from both the desktop and the LinkedIn mobile app.

Removing a connection from the desktop:
  1. Go to the connection's profile.
  2. Move your cursor over the Down arrow in the top section of the profile.
  3. Select Remove connection.
  4. Review the list of effects of removing the connection and click Remove.

Note: If you don't see Remove connection in the drop-down list, you may need to refresh your connections. To do this, go to your Connections page, click the Settings icon on the right, then click the Refresh link next to LinkedIn.

You can remove several connections at once on the Contacts page:
  1. Move your cursor over Connections at the top of your homepage and select Keep in Touch.
  2. Click Filter by and select Connections Only.
  3. Check the box next to the connections you'd like to remove.
  4. Click More above the first connection and select Remove from Contacts.
  5. Review the list of effects of removing the connections and click Remove.

You can also remove individual connections from the Contacts page by clicking More under their name and selecting Remove Connection. Connections you remove will no longer be a 1st-degree connection and will no longer appear in your Contacts section.

Removing a connection on iPhone iOS7 and above:
  1. Open the LinkedIn mobile app.
  2. Go to the profile of the member you wish to remove as a connection.
  3. To the right of the search box, tap the icon with 3 horizontal dots.
  4. Tap Remove Connection.
Removing a connection on Android:
  1. Open the LinkedIn mobile app.
  2. Go to the profile of the member you wish to remove as a connection.
  3. Tap either Menu or the More icon (3 vertical dots).
    • Location varies depending on your device.
  4. Tap Remove Connection.

Notes:

  • When you remove a connection, they won't be notified.
  • After removing a connection, any recommendations or endorsements between you and that person will be withdrawn. They will not be restored if the connection is re-established.
  • Only the member who breaks the connection can reinitiate that connection.

Learn more about removing contacts that you're not connected to on LinkedIn.

Was this answer helpful?