By default, your 1st-degree connections can see your list of connections. This lets them browse your network and find mutual friends and colleagues. No matter which setting you choose, your 1st-degree connections will always be able to see shared connections.
Note: Currently, you cannot selectively hide your connections list from people who are hiding theirs.
Learn more about seeing someone else's connections list.