Controlling Who Can Send You Invitations

How do I control who can invite me to connect?

Last Reviewed: 08/31/2015
Expand All
Collapse All

You can select who can send you invitations from the Communications tab of the Privacy & Settings page. You'll receive a notification each time a LinkedIn member invites you to connect.

Select one of the following preferences:

  1. Anyone on LinkedIn (Recommended)
  2. Only people who know your email address or appear in your "Imported Contacts" list
  3. Only people who appear in your "Imported Contacts" list

Note: If you select one of the last two options above, go to the Add Connections page to make sure your Imported Contacts list is up to date.

Invitations that don't meet your preferences will appear in your LinkedIn Inbox under the Invitations folder.

To see your blocked messages:

  1. Click the Inbox icon at the top of your homepage.
  2. Click Invitations on the left.
  3. If you have any blocked invitations, you can view them by clicking Show blocked invites near the top.

Important: We recently improved the messaging experience to make it easier for you to have professional conversations on LinkedIn. Please note that the new experience will be gradually rolled out to all members, and we are not granting early access requests.

Learn more about the features and functionalities of the new LinkedIn messaging experience.

Was this answer helpful?