Showing or Hiding Activity Updates About You

How do I control the updates I broadcast about myself?

Last Reviewed: 12/02/2015
Expand All
Collapse All

When you take certain actions or make certain profile updates on LinkedIn, these updates will immediately be visible on your Recent Activity page.

You can disable these updates by unchecking the box in your activity broadcast setting, accessible from the Privacy & Settings page.

To adjust the activity broadcast setting while editing your profile on desktop:

  1. Move your cursor over Profile at the top of your homepage and select Edit Profile.
  2. Toggle the button in the Notify Your Network? box on the right to either Yes or No.
    • You may have to scroll down to see this toggle. It's displayed below some Who's Viewed Your Profile stats.
iOS and Android

To adjust the activity broadcast setting from the LinkedIn app for iOS or Android, or from your mobile browser:

  1. Tap the Me icon in the navigation bar of the app or the mobile website.
  2. Tap the Settings icon in the top right corner.
  1. Tap the Privacy tab.
  2. Tap Sharing profile edits.
  3. Toggle the setting to Yes or No.
Changes to your LinkedIn account that trigger updates

Note: You can turn the notification off when you make a new connection by hiding your connection list.

While you can limit most of your updates, the following will be posted regardless of your activity settings:

Learn more:

Was this answer helpful?